Debbie's Perspective

Just my thoughts of the day.

Broken Glasses

on April 11, 2013

DSC_2158

“Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will uphold you with my victorious right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10

“Mom, don’t worry. Your glasses broke, but I fixed ’em right up for you.”

Ugh, those words are not what a mom wants to hear.  I could deduce what happened. The lense in my glasses comes out easily. I’m sure he knocked them off the coffee table where I had left them the night before, and the lense fell out. He had done his best to fix the glasses ‘right up’ for me.

The problem was that the frame was now bent, and the lense was being held in place by tape wrapped round and round the lense and frame. Technically the lense was where it needed to be, but the glasses were not fixed. Now they were a lopsided mess with an obstructed view.

Fear and discouragement can keep us from going to God when our lense on life has slipped from its anchor or we’ve been bent and twisted by circumstances. We try our best to fix things on our own, but end up with a lopsided mess causing us more stress and anxiety.

God encourages us in the passage above that He is with us when we are afraid; He is our God when we are discouraged. He will strengthen and help us in our need. We will be upheld when we come to Him and allow Him to do His work in us. That is where our victory lies. Our view of His purposes and plans for our life will be clear, and He will make the crooked and twisted paths straight.

Lord, let me run to you when life has me twisted and bent, and when my view of life is a blur. Let me remember that you are ready and willing to ‘fix me right up’ when I place myself in your victorious right hand.

7 responses to “Broken Glasses

  1. Kelly hatter says:

    So needed to hear this: I want Him to make my path clear & straight… Not twisty and blurry! No roller coaster paths wanted here 😉

  2. Kris D. (OBS Small Group Leader) says:

    Love your analogy of looking at God with a clear path, through a clear lens. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Katie says:

    Wonderful analogy! Let me see this hurting world as God sees it.

  4. Lori Blackwell (OBS Leader) says:

    I love your description about how fear and discouragement keeps us from going to God. How many times have I done that, but so thankful that he has never left me and just waiting for me to look up and call out to him.

  5. I love this — handing our roll of scotch tape over to God — he can mend us with something much bigger.

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. Sandi B says:

    Awesome analogy! I loved this story; it is so very relate-able and clear. Thanks for a great mental picture for those times I feel distorted and in need of fixing.
    ~~Sandi

  7. Love your analogy. Great post! So glad you shared. Debbie W. (OBS Group Leader)

Leave a Reply

