Debbie's Perspective

Just my thoughts of the day.

Cranky and Tired

on April 25, 2013

crying toddlerIn repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength, but you would have none of it. ~ Isaiah 30:15

Have you ever seen a cranky and tired toddler resisting every plea from Mom to come rest in her arms?  The longer she resists the more desperate and out of character her behavior spirals.

Am I like this little child? Throwing my tantrums, trying to have my own way; worn and weary from life.  The Master calls me to enter into His rest.  He beckons me to come into His arms and trust Him to return my strength.

“Come, my child, return to me and rest your sweet head.  Trust me; I know what is best for you.  Lay quiet in my arms and rest, and your strength will return; you will be restored.”

Why do I refuse when I need Him most?

Just like this toddler I don’t want to stop and get quiet.  The busyness and distractions around me are too enticing to let go of.  Sometimes I don’t think I can let go because I need to handle my responsibilities.

“I can do it myself,” I defiantly say.

Some days I give in and run into His arms and find refreshment and strength.  Then there are times I spin out of control until I fall in a heap on the floor; spent and exhausted from the cares of life.

It is time to put childish ways behind me and walk in maturity.

When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. ~ 1 Corinthians 13:11

Lord, I am so thankful you are patient with me.  You understand my weaknesses, and help me grow in wisdom and maturity.  Let me stay in your arms and find strength. Amen

9 responses to “Cranky and Tired

  1. great post! If we could only realize this truth, how much less stressful would our lives be!

    God bless you,
    Melissa.OBS Group Leader

  2. godizreal says:

    Oh my gosh I LOVE this photo!!! So good.

  3. It seems I have that kind of toddler stress all the time. Raising middle grade grand kids is a sure fire way to challenge anyone. I love doing it. These children needed a home and my husband and I provided it. So it seems we are in God’s will with the child rearing at this time. However, we make so many mistakes and run to our Heavenly Father over and over. thank God for His loving arms and His caring heart. One would think we would have learned from our mistakes with our five children. However, we did learn some things then and God is still teaching us some things now. We serve an awesome God and He alone knows our hearts and our motives. Heavenly Father open the doors of Heaven and pour out your blessings on each of these dear sweet OBS ladies today. Please let each one of them feel your loving arms around her and your comfort that only you can give. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

  4. Jeri says:

    I’m not sure if you meant to tag me or not, but it’s a relevant post to my life right now. Probably the last year. Good job on the writing…it speaks right to the heart. Rest. I bet all moms could use a little of this.

  5. Melanie Shannon says:

    I love this!! Thank you for sharing!!

  6. Nancy Miksad says:

    I so relate ~ there are so many times I wish I were two and could just throw a tantrum and get away with it! a 53 year woman cannot do that at the store, just not good. ;0) thank you for sharing!

  7. Natalie T says:

    I love this post, thanks so much for sharing!!!

  8. Constance says:

    Great post! I can relate!

  9. Anonymous says:

    Wow, is that a picture of me in the post. Thank you for capturing what so many of us are doing.

Leave a Reply

