Debbie's Perspective

Just my thoughts of the day.

#PALMS UP

on August 8, 2013

OBS palms up

I walk up with hands clenched, held tightly across my heart. These things are important to me. Some of them are my life itself, I think. How can I f

reely release them? It’ll cost me way too much.

Then I look at the hands held out to receive it all. There is something there already. I look closer. Scars. Nail scars. The ultimate price paid for my life. My eyes meet His. There is only love there. He’s not asking for these things to steal them

away from me; He’s taking them into His care.

This is freedom I’m gazing at. Why am I holding tight to this? Although I feel like I just stepped over a cliff and I’m free falling, my hands open and release everything into His. Things tumble out I didn’t even know were there.

Why am I so desperately holding on to pride, control, doubt, fear, anger? I guess with closed hands holding onto the things I love so much, it’s hard to see the other things that get caught up in that grip.

I turn my palms up and show Him their emp

tiness. He smiles and says, “Now you are ready.”

“Ready for what?” I ask. He won’t say, but just smiles at me with a twinkle in His eye.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. — Deuteronomy 6:5

When you read these words, it’s easy to pass over them and say, “Okay, I’m supposed to love God with all of me.” The problem is, that isn’t so easy.

Our theme this week in the Proverbs 31 On-line Bible Study is #Palms Up. Palms up ready to receive all that God has for us. But after reading and studying this verse over the week, I realize that palms up also means letting go of anything that I keep trying to hang on to.

All of me includes my desperate love for my family. The thought of something bad happening to my husband or my children sends a shiver o

f fear right through me. I’m supposed to hold on to them, right? No, #Palms Up, Lord.

As I examine my heart more closely, things rise to the surface that I know I’m holding on to as well; control is a biggy. Why do I hold on to these? #Palms Up, Lord.

All of these things and more ramble around in my heart vying for my attention and attachment.

Idols?

My head says, “No, I don’t have any idols.” My

heart says, “Anything you are choosing to hang on to that keeps you from freely giving your whole heart to Jesus is an idol.”

Over the last few days as I’ve come trembling before the Lord confessing that I’m scared – scared of what may come; scared that His call may cost me too much, Jesus has met me there with loving nail scarred hands assuring me that His hands are the only true place of safety.

#Palms up, Lord!

www.proverbs31.org

http://www.proverbs31.org
5 responses to “#PALMS UP

  1. Nancy says:

    Are you living in my head and heart? These issues are also my issues. You’ve described my battle. Thank you for putting a frame around this. Thank you for this :

    “Over the last few days as I’ve come trembling before the Lord confessing that I’m scared – scared of what may come; scared that His call may cost me too much, Jesus has met me there with loving nail scarred hands assuring me that His hands are the only true place of safety.”

  2. I love how you chose to surrender even the tough, “little” things that we often forget about. Pride, need for control, fear…. We think of these things as “back burner” sins, but they really do play out in every facet of our lives. Thanks for being so open to the deepest parts of your heart. You are a gem!!

    Christa Fowler (OBS Group Leader)

  3. Very good! You touched a sore spot in heart and just where I needed to be touched. Thank you for your insightful words.

  4. Dana Cowen says:

    Wow my your amazing, thanks for sharing! Love ya!

  5. Sherri Richardson says:

    Thank you for sharing your heart. I struggle with holding on to so many things. I know that I need to release it all to God, and sometimes I believe I do, but it’s only temporary – as, I tend to panic or there is trouble and I grab tight and pull them in again. Your post has made me think about a lot if things. I’m going to prayer over these areas. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

