Debbie's Perspective

Just my thoughts of the day.

Stuck at the Pool

on July 22, 2017

Do you have a situation or a need you’ve prayed and prayed for God to fix, but days, months, even years have gone by and your miracle still hasn’t come? When this happens it’s easy to start thinking it might be too late, but you keep on praying and making excuses why it hasn’t happened, holding on to the slightest sliver of hope that maybe it still could.

While I was studying the passage in John 5:1-9a, 14 about the miracle Jesus did for the man at the Pool of Bethesda, I saw some things that have given me a fresh hope for my miracle.

Crowds of sick people—blind, lame, or paralyzed—lay on the porches waiting for a certain movement of the water, for an angel of the Lord came from time to time and stirred up the water. And the first person to step in after the water was stirred was healed of whatever disease he had. One of the men lying there had been sick for thirty-eight years. When Jesus saw him and knew he had been ill for a long time, he asked him, “Would you like to get well?” John 5:3-6

  • Even in a crowd of people, Jesus still sees me individually. I’m not lost in the multitude of other’s needs. 
  • There is no statute of limitations on God working a miracle in my situation. Just because He hasn’t, doesn’t mean He won’t. 
  • God won’t automatically meet a need He knows I have until He shows me what it is, and I’m ready and willing for Him to do something. I have to know what I need and want to change.

“I can’t sir,” the sick man said, “for I have no one to put me into the pool when the water bubbles up. Someone else always gets there ahead of me.” Jesus told him, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and walk!” Instantly the man was healed! He rolled up his sleeping mat and began walking! John 5:7-9a

  • I can make excuses for why my situation hasn’t changed, but that isn’t what God wants from me. My excuses could keep me from getting my miracle. 
  • My idea of how my situation can or will change isn’t necessarily how God is going to do it. God doesn’t need a formula. 
  • I can’t rely on someone else to get it done for me—someone else’s prayer, someone else’s faith.  Others can come along side me and join with me in prayer and faith, but ultimately I’m responsible for seeking, praying, and believing. It’s my faith and my relationship with Jesus that are key.
  • I must be obedient when Jesus tells me what to do in my situation. When Jesus gives me a command He will give me the ability to get it done, so just do it.

But this miracle happened on the Sabbath, so the Jewish leaders objected. John 5:9b

  • Not everyone will be happy with my healing or the way God met my need. Rejoice and don’t worry about other’s agendas.

But afterward Jesus found him in the Temple and told him, “Now you are well; so stop sinning, or something even worse may happen to you.” John 5:14

  • When my healing comes and this situation is fixed, it can reveal hidden things that also need to change. When God reveals what I need to change, it’s in my best interest to do it.

I believe miracles still happen and healing still comes for all the various needs we have – physical, mental, emotional, relational, etc. My desire is that the hope God has given me through these insights will also bring renewed hope to you in your situations.

With God all things are possible.

One response to “Stuck at the Pool

  1. I always love how you apply God’s Word in your life! Thank you for the fresh perspective! 🖤

Leave a Reply

